Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

What do I expect to see in LMS - Suggestions for improvement

I am a network engineer working for a Cisco Silver partner for 3 years now. I have done a number of CiscoWorks implementations in which i got the chance to learn the CiscoWorks LMS server. Since I did not find any post making some suggestions, i thought I start one. Feel free to add if you like .

First thing: LMS web interface is slow; I mean dead slow. Every time I try to demonstrate the product to the client i get stressed. For instace, lets say that i want to generate a report. When i click on submit, sometimes the page just keeps loading for a minute or so. Why is that? If we were running it on a 56k modem it would be normal; but LMS is on the same LAN as our management console. This means that LMS as a server is slow. I would suggest that the interface be more like the one of CS-MARS or ACS 5.x. This is much smoother.

Topology Services.

LMS creates a topology based on CDP. When CDP is enabled on all devices, it displays the topology beautifully. How about when CDP cannot pass through? For instance, when a firewall is in between? In this case LMS just puts the network device disconnected from the rest of the network. I have 2 suggestions for that.

• Fix the problem so that topology services do not work only with CDP. CS-MARS and CSM can design the topology with SNMP, so there is another way.
  • Make a way for the administrator to 'edit' the network diagram and put the connection himself. Just like a map.

User tracking.

I have been implementing user tracking for one client and i have found that the IOS did not support snmp configuration per interface basis. My recommendation is to put a warning in a wizard saying that you need the minimum IOS of 12.x before trying to implement user tracking.

Updates.