Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

FTD interaction with FMC and CLI access

Hello,

I'm using a 3rd party utility called OpManager to manage backups and monitoring of my network. I've been working with their support and I found out that my firewall's enable password in "system support diagnostic-cli" is blank. They don't support it being blank. That said, I'm very new to firepower and I don't understand the implications of changing the enable password. A few questions.

1. Can I change the enable password in the diagnostic CLI while the firewall is connected to FMC?

2. Does FMC rely on the enable password for any remote management?

3. Are there any other concerns with changing the enable password on the FTD device?

Thanks!

Andy

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

JohnLong3
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Andy,

The concept of an enable password does not exist on the FTD platform as it does on other Cisco platforms. Here is an excerpt from the FTD Command Reference Guide, which explains why this is so:

Privileged EXEC Mode. Enter the enable command to enter this mode (press enter without entering a password when prompted for a password). Note that you cannot set a password for this mode. Access is protected by the account login to the FTD CLI only. However, users cannot enter configuration mode within Privileged EXEC mode, so the extra password protection is not necessary

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/firepower/command_ref/b_Command_Reference_for_Firepower_Threat_Defense/using_the_FTD_CLI.html

View solution in original post