cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Basics of adding a device into NSO... and other noob questions/issues.

dmickels
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I'm totally new to this product.  I've installed a VM using the "system install" method and have licensed it with Smart License.  That said, here are the issues/questions I've encountered.  Bear in mind that I'm NOT a programmer/developer but an old-time network engineer.  I'm trying to learn so that I might improve my scripting-foo.  Please bear that in mind if/when you respond as I probably don't know all your fancy jargon.

I've connected to the ncs_cli and noticed that I have no packages ("show packages" comes up blank).  Is this expected behavior?  Where do I get packages? (at least cisco-ios but cisco-asa would be very nice as well)

I've connected to the WebGUI and tried to add a device (a c3560) but apparently I'm doing it wrong as I keep getting various error messages.

I've done my best to read the manual(s) that came with the installation files but most (if not all) presume you performed the "local install" method and have access to the net-sim (and presumably some packages).  I've not found any documentation on how to use the WebGUI at all, alas.

Please help me get started.  I REALLY want to learn how to use this product.  I'd prefer not to use the net-sim feature though as I have enough real gear that I'd rather work with.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

There is just no reason to do a system install until you are putting together a production system with strict requirements on security, periodic backup and automatic start. The point with local install is exactly what you noticed: there's no need to set up users etc. So there's no need for this to be part of the "getting started" process. It just works.