Views
Helpful
Replies

NSO - how to see in Java code if the user performed a "commit dry-run"

FlavioA
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

I would like my service to execute some specific lines of Java code if the user running the service performs a "commit dry-run", otherwise if the user performs a "commit" I would like him to do other ones, and if he performs a "commit dry-run" followed but a "commit", I want my code to execute other lines of code.
How can these pieces of information be obtained in the Java code?

I am probably wrong (because I'm new with NSO and Java coding) but I was thinking to use the method "confirmedCommitInProgress()" for"Maapi" class:

Socket s = new Socket("localhost", Conf.CONF_PORT);
Maapi maapi = new Maapi(s);
int commitInProgress = maapi.confirmedCommitInProgress();

// other lines here

Even if this is right, I still don't know how to discriminate between "commit" and "commit dry-run".

Thank you in advance for any help

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

uavsec001
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Java APIs can differentiate only between create, update and delete (com.tailf.dp.services.ServiceOperationType). I haven't noticed an option to differentiate between commit and commit dry-run yet (after all the commit dry-run is expected to show you exactly what commit will actually do without doing it so IMO it would be contra productive to allow altering one of the two).

EDIT:

Seems that someone beat me to it.

In your second case where you want to interact with external DB it would be better that you use the Reactive FASTMAP behavior as handling the external allocations during the create is not a good idea (it can introduce long waiting times if external DB is busy for example.). In this case however dry-run will not work completely.

EDIT EDIT: