cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CallManager v3.3(4)

brutus_27
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to IP Telephony and Call Manager. I am looking into buying CallManager v3.3 (4) and am wanting to know if it is sufficent to work with Cisco Ip phones 7905 's and 7910. Also is this a basic version of CallManager and is it really easy to learn how to use? Any info would be greatly apreciated thanks.

Zeb-

4 Replies 4

travis-dennis_2
Level 7
Level 7

Yes, 7905 and 7910 phones will work with CallManager 3.3(4). For more questions like this take a look at this link:

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/voice/c_callmg/ccmcomp.htm

It is the Cisco Compatability Matrix. A very useful tool has you dip your toes in the IP Telephony tool.

While there are 2 different versions of CallManager, those being CAllManager and CallManager Express I am not sure that is what you are looking for. CallManager Express (CME) is a scaled down version of CallManager (sortof) but it is the closest thing to a basic version of CallManager.

Hope this helps.

Please remember to rate all replies

thomas1
Level 2
Level 2

I would check into purchasing CCM v4.1.3 instead of 3.3.4 (assuming you have the budget for it). Version 4.1.3 is the latest and it's about three or for versions above 3.3.4. There are some better features with 4.1.3. For example, you can't add a person on line two into a conference call on line line on 3.3.4. Our customers complain about this. Version 4.1.3 has the ability.

I would stay away from using IBM servers too. We use HP with no problems. We bought some IBM's to migrate the production environment onto, but we've had nothing but problems.

As for "easy to learn", it depends on many factors. It helps to have a telephony/telecommunications background. It helps to know the Windows server environment even though you don't support it like a windows server (always support it the way Cisco says!). In other words, don't let your server team get their paws on it. :)