cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5505 Boot Issues

BeardedRetroGuy
Level 1
Level 1

Not sure where to ask this, but going to give it a shot.

I'm a Network Admin at an ISP and I have several Cisco ASA 5505 series units, ONE of which has a booting issue.  I have included the full Console boot logs for reference.  To start, we see "5505 Boot Fail.txt" where apparently the device can't find a boot image on the included 128MB Compact Flash card.  So I thought "Ok, so there's no boot ROM.  Let me load one."  I went through the whole process of setting up a stand-alone TFTP server with the asa917-32-k8.bin file that it was looking for (I work for an ISP, we have tons of BOOT roms saved for all kinds of hardware we operate).  Cool, the ASA downloads the boot ROM and begins to boot....then hangs in a very specific spot.  So I unplug it and plug it back in and we're back to the first boot failure, as if there is no BOOT image on the CF card.  "OK, maybe the CF card is bad.  Let's try one from a known-working unit."

So I took the covers off this one and another known-good working unit and effectively swapped the Compact Flash cards and tried to boot the unit.  It ALSO stops booting in the same spot.  So THAT log is included as "5505 Changed CF Boot.txt".  I have added the <BOOT LOCKUP HERE> at the bottom so you can see where it locked up.  Hitting the Enter key usually would advance the console by one line, but once at THAT spot in the boot, NOTHING happens.  The only thing I can do is unplug it to hard power it off.

I also include "5505 Success Boot.txt" as the log from the 2nd ASA that works.  This is the one I got the CF card from to put into the first ASA.  This is the boot log when it has its own CF card put back in it and it auto-boots all the way to the console prompt for login.