Views
Helpful
Replies

Recommended design for 2x ASA and Cisco Stack

mSumo
Level 1
Level 1

Hello experts,

I have some general question about what design would you recommend for the scenario below.

I advised company to replace their current 4 switches (from 3 different brands and quite old ones) with a 2x Catalyst 2960X-48FPD-L and put them to a STACK. Also, as there is some issue with compatibility for VPN between their existing routers (Draytek) and other side of VPN with ASA, we are going to replace those routers as well with ASA 5506-X. I am OK with setting up the switches, as I have some experience with cisco switches. However, I am not sure about what would be the best way to connect/configure ASAs.

See the draft design. As you can see, the existing switches do not have any redundancy at all.

NEtwork Design.jpg

Info:

• There are two ISPs 
  • ASA will be configured for HA
  • We will deploy VoIP so I will create a VLAN for data traffic and a VLAN for voice traffic. (currently, there are no VLANs in place… no tagging)
  • I am OK with configuring the switches
  • I have just very little (almost none) experience with ASA but I guess it should not be complicated to set them up

My questions:

• Is it better to create  L3 port channels and have switches to route between VLANs?
  • Is it better to create L2 port channels and route between VLANs on ASAs?
  • There is a VPN that is bounded to a particular ISP – is there a way to configure VPN in a wah that if one ISP is down, another one will be used instead?
  • is the design I proposed OK, or would you change anything?

For ASA, I know what I would like to achieve, but not sure how to configure it yet... will google it once the boxes are with me :)

1 Reply 1

Deepak Kumar
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,