cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

RME Software management

stevecox
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to CiscoWorks. I am trying to configure RME to manage the software on 2900XL/3500XL switches. It appears that I have to delete the current image on the switch or the job creation fails when I get to the "Verify Image Upgrade" page and I get the following message when I click on the "failed" link under status:

Error Messages:

Cause The size of the flash device or partition is too small to store the image.(Code: 4553)

Recommended Action: The selected image size exceeds the total size of the flash device or partition. Select a different destination flash device or partition.

Are there any workarounds for this or am I missing something in the configuration?

Thanks.

9 Replies 9

rmushtaq
Level 8
Level 8

What RME+IDU version?

RME version 3.5 with IDU 8.

james.amann
Level 1
Level 1

Going through the same thing. Docs say there is supposed to be a checkbox to delete the image from flash but it does not exist. I used the script below in netconfig to delete the files needed:

delete flash:/c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC9a.bin

y

delete flash:/html/*

yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

rmdir flash:html

y

we have the same problem after upgrading to RME 3.5 IDU 8. All went fine with the "delete image checkbox" before updating the IDU but now it is missing :-(

As we have to schedule the jobs and don't want to run the switches with empty flashes for hours the "erase flash with netconfig" is no solution for us.

Any other ideas?

stevecox
Level 1
Level 1

I have opened a case with TAC. I will post any resolution I get from them.

great. That must be a bug in the latest IDU. If there will be no fix from cisco the only way is to downgrade IDU until the bug is gone. But it may be hard to find a version where our newer hardware is detected _and_ we can still do a software update of our 2924er switches :-(

I would be glad to hear of a resolution from cisco.

stevecox