Views
Helpful
Replies

RV042, Load Balance issue

Elviszopa
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm a newbie to routers and on this discussion.

I've  purchased a Linksys RV042 hoping I could connect my two ISP.

Both of them are 1/1 Mb, first is DSL  second PPPoE connection.

The problem is that on system summary page it doesn't show me that second WAN is connected. Even when I trying to manually connect to Internet it doesn't help.

When this connection is in Load balance Mode, internet is very slow, sometimes it's even disconnected.

My question is:

How to configure Load Balance properly?

I've tried this page:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps9923/products_qanda_item09186a0080a36632.shtml

but it didn't helped.

Or maybe it's just a demo of this option and doesn't work at all?

2011-02-08 09-53-34.png

2011-02-08 09-54-54.png

Thanks for the reply.....

13 Replies 13

Preston Chilcote
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

In firmware version 1.2.3 you have a choice of load balancing algorithms.  The intelligent balancer does weighted round robin which could be a big problem when sending data to 2 different ISPs.  This would be especially true, if your ISPs are giving you private IPs like 10.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x.

The other option is to manually specify what banwdidth the first link needs to reach before the second link turns on.  This might work better for you.

rberber07
Level 1
Level 1

Your settings look wrong:

If WAN2 is using pppoe, then your ISP modem is in bridge mode, then it will not respond to pings which you configured by enabling "Network Service Detection".

But main problem is with connection with WAN2.
It can not connect. Even even I manually trying to do this it's always disconnected.

So, please someone explain it to me.

Elviszopa wrote:

But main problem is with connection with WAN2.

How are you testing this?

It can not connect. Even even I manually trying to do this it's always disconnected.