Views
Helpful
Replies

4G LTE Cellular configuration VRF / source interface issue

perkin
Level 1
Level 1

Hello my friends

I am pretty new to 4G card connection, recently we get a module NIM-4G-LTE-GA, put a sim card and google some basic setup from internet/cisco, and it works, we even made that works with the TCL script with SMS  control too.

after the Fancy functions, we test, and in the actual head to head configuration, the internet seems to me that some command they are not compatible say, for example, the source Ping also the VRF (we are using DMVPN with VRF) setup.

first, if I issue
#ping 8.8.8.8 so C0/1/0

It NOT work ping said this internet is not enabled or DOWN

but when I issue

#ping 8.8.8.8

it missed 2 ping then the interface is up , then I can run #ping 8.8.8.8 so C0/1/0 without issue!

also this is the simialr issue when I do VRF forwarding on this C0/1/0 interface,it seems VRF think this interface is down and not allow me to ping via #ping vrf TRANSPORT 8.8.8.8

that is not make sense for me, I guess is that some basic cli can keep the Cell interface always UP?

test-rtr#sh hw-module subslot all oir
Module Model Operational Status
------------- -------------------- ------------------------
subslot 0/0 ISR4321-2x1GE ok
subslot 0/1 NIM-4G-LTE-GA ok

test-rtr#

test-rtr#sh ver | i ers
Cisco IOS XE Software, Version 16.09.03

test-rtr#
est-rtr#sh run int c0/1/0
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 100 bytes
!
interface Cellular0/1/0
ip address negotiated
dialer in-band
dialer-group 1
pulse-time 1
end

test-rtr#sh run | i ip route
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 Cellular0/1/0

ip route vrf TRANSPORT 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 Cellular0/1/0
test-rtr#ping 8.8.8.8 so c0/1/0
% Invalid source interface - IP not enabled or interface is down
PKF-test-rtr#ping 8.8.8.8
Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 8.8.8.8, timeout is 2 seconds:
*Jul 10 11:19:54.389: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface Cellular0/1/0, changed state to up.!!