cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

877W, SDM Express and getting it going...

davidrawle
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a network engineer and am trying to commission my very first Cisco - an 877W.

I have run into a major problem with SDM Express.

SDM Express starts up and runs fine. I answer all the questions properly and end up at the confirmation page. Everything is checked and I click 'Finish'.

That's it - one dead router.

It says it takes a while to load, so left it for 30 mins and power cycled it. None of the configuration I entered is in there, it's still a factory default.

Tried it on 2 PCs - Win XP Pro SP2, no firewall, no anti-virus. LAN cable (tried a few of those).

Tried it in IE and Firefox on both machines.

Tried a new power supply.

Tried it on Linux and Mac - doesn't like either of those.

Anyone had the same or got a fix? Is it the router or SDM?

I have had a replacement router - both behave the same way.

(My reseller is foxed and Cisco don't offer support :-()

Thanks,

David

25 Replies 25

This is what I have got so far...

I think I have set up the WAN (Annex-A Adsl, 0/38)

Can't actually connect to the WAN to test as I have no idea whether my WLAN is live or secure

All I need to get going is:

ADSL --> Router --> LAN clients + WLAN (WPA-PSK) clients

Should be simple.

How on earth would you do DMZ, port forwarding, use FTP-ALG, SIP-ALG, VPN (lan-lan), VPN single clients?

This router obviously has more power than I need, how do I just get an overview of how to set it up without reading 100's pages of incomprehensible technical babble?

Having spent 2 whole days on it, I think it's time to give up, pack it in its box and send it back to where it came from...

Well, you are almost there.

if you paste the below, that will simplify the configuration. radio is keep shut as you are worried about it.