Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP ASN

Jonathan Forbes
Level 1
Level 1

Hello 

I have 2 ISP in BGP config on 1 Cisco Router. I am taking a full Table from both ISP's 

What i am looking to do it have a ASN go IN and OUT a different ISP than the default path. The current path is ISP 1 but i would like to have this go in and out ISP 2. 

Can someone help me on this as i am new to bgp. 

I have the config up and running on both service providers.

3 Replies 3

Hello

the easiest way is to use weight prefferance for egress and as path pretending for ingress traffic

I would also make sure you don't become a transit path for either ISP also

ip as-path access-list 10 permit ^$

route-map ASN-prepending permit 10

set as-path 20 20 20

Router bgp 20

neighbour (isp2) weight 400000

neighbour (isp2) filter-list 10 out

neighbour (isp1) weight 200000 ( optional)

neigbour (isp1) filter-list 10 out

neigbour (isp1) route-map ASN-pending out

res

Paul

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.

Kind Regards
Paul

The problem i have is that i have a single asn that i want to use isp2

I use Cogent for ISP 1 and HE for ISP 2 when i run a traceroute to anything that is on the comcast network it goes out the HE ISP 2 pipe i want all traffic for comcast to use my cogent as this is a 10gb burst and the HE is single gig connection. 

Is there a way i can tell the comcast asn to use the cogent in and out and allow all the other traffic to go best path. the reason i want to do this is because from our DC here in the US we are seeing the comcast traffic use up our he gig connection. with moving this over we can allow more traffic over the cogent connection. 

Thanks