Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP MULTIHOMING AND OSPF CONFIGURATION

bluezone2011
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone

We run a small Wireless ISP and due to our grow we are setting up our network for full availability for our customers. We got our AS and IP block from ARIN, and we have internal OSPF for all our POPs, we  have 2 Internet upstreams with same Bandwidth, and now we are planning to run BGP to have redundancy on our Internet  pipe. I'm really new to BGP configurations , so we have decided to set it as simple as possible but always aiming to  provide redundancy to our customers. I've reading a lot and some configurations suggest to receive default routes from both ISP since we are planning to work BGP as backup instead load balancing.

This is the catch.  (Please refer to our network diagram)

We have two  7204 Routers connected to two different  ISPs. Rigth now we dont have any BGP running  just OSPF for internal backup.

As soon as we set BGP we dont want all traffic going to just one ISP , what we want is to force traffic from HILINE and GTS though Router B, and  CYMEZ, BADAFI and OFICINA through router A, but still have redundancy in case one or the other ISP goes down.

I would appreciate some basic configurations so we can achieve this goal.

Thank you

10 Replies 10

A solution would be to have two static routes towards to each upstream router. In each internal router you will give the static route you prefer lower administrative distance. In order to have failure protection you shoyld assign each sattic route a track object from which you will be monitoring the internet connectivity of each upstream router (e.g by using a ping towards the ISP point to point IP address). This implicates that you will leak these point to point IPs to your ospf domain.