Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP SVI Routing Configuration

timhudson55
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

Thanks to a very useful community answer (Can BGP be Routed Between 2 SVI's), I now know that I can use SVI's as BGP neighbours. However, I am very new to being hands-on with BGP! Is anyone able to help out a little with some of the commands? I've attached my small topology.

Vlan 151 is for the core site, with VLANs 11 and 12 for sites 1 and 2 respectively. 

Any help that someone could provide is greatly appreciated!

Kind regards,

Tim

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Tim

Thanks for the additional information. There is one new piece of information that is very helpful:

- There is a MGMT VLAN (253) that must be accessible everywhere.

Now the requirement for trunk ports makes sense. If site 1 is connected to core and needs to process both the management vlan and a transit vlan then it needs to be a trunk.

So the connection from each remote site will be an Ethernet. The Ethernet interfaces will be trunks. Each device will have an SVI for the management vlan and an SVI for the transit vlan/subnet.

The IP scheme that you were given specifies the LAN subnets for each site. That scheme does not specify the management vlan but the directions are clear that you need to configure it. The scheme does not specify transit vlans but the requirement to connect core to remote means that 2 additional subnets are also required and you need to create them.

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

So you need to create the vlan in the vlan database on both switches. 

Then you should be able to ping. 

Jon

View solution in original post

23 Replies 23

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Tim

Given the drawing that you post I wonder why you want to use BGP. If the main site is connected to remote sites using leased lines then it would seem that some Interior Routing Protocol (perhaps OSPF or EIGRP) would give you what you need.