Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring new serial int

Hello,

I have posted on here a few times before and you guys have been very helpful. So here goes!

I have an existing Cisco 2621XM. It is connected to an external DSU via an ehternet crossover cable. I am about to get another T1 into the building from the same ISP but on a new DSU. I plan to buy 2 WIC-1T interfaces and use them to connect to both the DSUs. The DSUs are Adtran 608. They have v.35 interfaces. So, I relise this is asking a lot but could anyone help me with the best way to configure my router to use this config? I am a complete newb when it comes to Cisco and though I can use the command line and change settings, I have no idea about the best way to do this.

Please let me know if you need any more info.

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Paul

35 Replies 35

Hi Paul,

With Ethernet interfaces, it is best to use a route such as the following:

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 FastEthernet0/1 xx.xx.xx.xx

This is because it's a multiaccess interface and you are better off pointing to a next-hop address on that interface. If you don't, your router will send out unnecessary ARPs for every single address ...

Hope that helps - pls rate the post if it does.

Paresh

Hi Paresh,

When I use the route ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 FastEthernet0/1 xx.xx.xx.xx

I loose connection to the T1. I am assuming of course that xx is the next hop. IE the default gateway I have set up in my

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 xx.xx.xx.xx

It works if the other route is stll in there but if I remove it, it stops working...

Any ideas?

Thanks

Paul

Ok, I experimented a little. When I enter the command

no ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 xx.xx.xx.xx

To see if it will work with just the

It removes both the route. Neither are in the sh ip route where as, before I entered the no ip route comand mentioned above they were both visable....it also removed the

line from the config.....