Views
Helpful
Replies

DMVPN routing Issues

Tony Basile
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings,

This is a PoC and I'm a bit new to this. That being said, I tried kicking this one around a bit just to see if i could figure it out. It seems I need a second (third, or fourth?) set of eyes please.

My goal is to set up a dual hub dmvpn scenario utilizing two service providers. The underlay network consists of a very basic eigrp setup, but the overlay is ospf area 0 using an internal vrf. The switch allowing connectivity between the hubs and spokes is just a flat, layer 2 switch.

Each dmvpn spoke is set up exactly the same, naturally. My configuration seems to be working up to the hub nhs address, however none of the spokes can reach beyond the hubs to the HQ_NET networks of 10.1.3.0/30, 10.1.3.4/30, or 10.2.3.0/24 even though the tunneled traffic is populated in the hub vrf RIB.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

DMVPN.JPG

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi Paul,

Thanks for your prompt reply!

Per your recommendation, I removed the VRF from all interfaces and tunnels. I noticed that the HQ_NET router's RIB had the overlay tunnel network in it's database, however the spokes did not... I placed the VRF back into play, and noticed the same results in the RIB.

The thought behind the VRF was just to acheive segregation from the theoretical internet global routing table, and I had at one point thought of disabling EIGRPs split horizon at first. I had also removed EIGRP completely and used only static routes, but the issue still persisted.

To allow connectivity, I used static default routes with an IP SLA for failover to the secondary hub.

The following configurations were made to all spokes:

ip sla 1
icmp-echo 192.200.3.5 source-interface gi0/0
frequency 10
timeout 5000
!
ip sla schedule 1 start-time now life forever
!
track 11 ip sla 1 reachability
!
! Route to primary HUB1 with SLA to track reachability