Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Dynamic Bandwidth Allocation on Cisco Routers

Hi Forum

I am busy investigating this but am currently coming up with no solutions other than additional appliances that need to be installed. What I am trying to achieve is the following:

I have a Subscriber based connection (users connect with DSL links) and they are authenticated against my Radius Server. IP Addresses are assigned dynamically as well. This is done using the Cisco ISG functionality on the Cisco ASR. What I need to be able to do now is to allow the router to dynamically allocate QoS templates/bandwidth allocation based on a contention ratio of 10:1 across the access link so across a 10Mb link I can have 10 users accessing the link at 10Mb but when the 11th user connects the bandwidth needs to be dynamically increased on the interface (underlying physical link has enough bandwidth capacity) and so on. When a user disconnects the bandwidth needs to be dynamically decreased again so that the contention ratio always remains at 10:1

This is a very brief overview of what I am trying to achieve. Is there anyone here that can help me by pointing me in the right direction to achieve this even if it means by using an additional appliance-based or software-based system

Regards

Steven

3 Replies 3

tariq83
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Mr. Steven,

Did you find the solution?

If yes please share it.

Best regards,

Tariq

Hello,

not sure if this is what you are looking for, but maybe an alternative would be to a parent/child shaper that limits the bandwidth to 1MB per user, and in case it is not used, the other users get all remaining bandwidth. Below is an example for two users:

class-map match-all CLASS_1

match access-list 101

!

class-map match-all CLASS_2

match access-list 102

!

access-list 101 permit ip host 192.168.1.2 any

access-list 101 permit ip host 192.168.1.3 any

policy-map CHILD_SHAPER
class CLASS_1
priority 1024
class CLASS_2