cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Editing Cisco Config to match new ISP?

SynthesisIT
Level 1
Level 1

We currently have two Cisco 1841 routers in two different locations, connected via site-to-site vpn. In one of our locations we just changed ISP, however how do I go about updating the running configs? My thoughts are to edit the config of the location we switched ISP via notepad, updating the wan interface to match the new static IP and then change the vpn configuration tunnel's "source" info to match with the new ISP static IP. Update any IP line associated with the old ISP to match the new ISP. Once I make the necessary changes in the notepad, just copy it over to the Cisco router and then copy/write it into the flash. And of course update the vpn destination config in the other location. Make any DNS changes. That should get everything up and running? Sorry, I am new to Cisco equipment. Any help will be appreciated! 

7 Replies 7

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

If you are changing the ISP, you need to change the respective interface config to reflect with NEW ISP addres, suggest to change access the device with local access. also change VPN Peer address other side to connect to new IP, change any NAT involved with OLD IP to new IP address and routing.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Okay thank you. And just to make sure, once I have done the necessary changes to the config file in the site that we changed the ISP, just copy the new config to the Cisco router via the terminal window (ssh). Is there any specific command I need to type to initiate this?

you can to SSH using Lan side not from VPN Interface, since you changing that IP address.

you only chaning the ISP new IP address - make sure yu take the configuration out of the box for reference .

its IP change based on the what configured, so its standard config change.