cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

EIGRP with different vendors.

jlajuarez
Level 1
Level 1

Yesterday I was invited for a job interview from a company for a junior network administrator position. I am currently looking for my first job as I am a fresh graduate.

The guy who interviewed me asked me this question, this is how it went:

Guy: Can you use EIGRP with different vendor routers?

Me: No.

Guy: Why?

Me: Because it is Cisco proprietary. If the company has multi vendor routers, OSPF should be used.

Guy: What if I tell you we used EIGRP with Cisco and Huawei devices.

Me: (very confused) That's.... very interesting. How?

Guy: *smug*

The technical interview went well until that... and i guess i flonked on that technical question. But... really? Is it possible? I think he is just messing with me. Like trying to see how I would react. But I answered in all honesty like how any geek would be so excited to learn something new or somethign he thought was impossible. I didn't want to say "oh yeah.. you can use it" even if I honestly believe that EIGRP can only be used with Cisco devices.

Enlighten me.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

cadet alain
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Google gave me this:http://www.networkworld.com/edge/news/2004/0728huawei.html

Regards.

Alain.

Don't forget to rate helpful posts.

View solution in original post

Yeah I agree it was about the knowledge. And that clearly showed I am not knowledgeable.

Actually, i totally disagree with that. If asked the same question i would have said the same thing. As Calin says, that question says a lot more about the person asking it than it does about your knowledge.

If you failed the interview because of that then trust me you really don't want to be working in an environment like that anyway.

Jon

View solution in original post

17 Replies 17

cadet alain
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Google gave me this:http://www.networkworld.com/edge/news/2004/0728huawei.html

Regards.

Alain.