cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

HELP! how to configure a network so that if one switch link falls the second one will be used

NordWest1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All, 

I am a beginner in networking and at the moment I am facing some problems with my network configuration.

I have attached the network design. Considering the design I have chosen for my purpose how can I configure the router and Core switched (multilayer switches) so that if one falls for some reasons the second one is up and takes over. 

Please, help me. I have already set on both switches server vtp mode and spanning tree different so that the first switch will have priority 0 the second one 4096. netw design.png

I will try to elaborate more on the problem I am facing. 

Initially, my network design was looking like this initial.jpg

I also want to add that it is configured fully and everything works as required. I asked my tutor for feedback and he said that it would look better if I could replace the core switch with a multilayer switch. I did so and I configured my multilayer switch everything works. Now he said I should I should add another one just to increase my redundancy. And here is the point where I got lost. How should I connect the second switch at the core level so that my redundancy will increase?

1. should I connect the second switch to the router if yes (how should I configure the router or the port I have connected the second switch)?

2. should I connect the second switch just to the first switch and set priority 4096?

6 Replies 6

Gary Archer
Level 1
Level 1

Is this for a theoretical exam question or would you like a real world answer from the field ? 

Yes, that's for a theoretical exam, thanks.