cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ICND1 lab setup

Trev1964
Level 1
Level 1

I just started studying for the CCNA a month or so ago and I have been trying to connect two Cisco 3750 switches to two Cisco 877W routers. Can someone help me with the cable connections? I know this might seem trivial, but I cannot seem to get the lab components to communicate with each other. I have connected my PC with a Cat6 cable directly to a LAN port on the router that I would like to use as the main access point (I think that is correct), but I get no response when I ping the IP address that I gave the router. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

It looks like your switchports are shutdown on your 877 router. Please ensure they are enabled and test again. You can do this by the following in the router:

config t
int fa0
no shut
int fa1
no shut
int fa2
no shut
int fa3
no shut

View solution in original post

38 Replies 38

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

Please share the config of your 877W and we can work out what is going wrong.

cheers,

Seb.

version 12.4
no service pad
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname 
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
enable secret 5 $1$O1IK$MAGmjSNlZMf24GEUcDpDW1

!
no aaa new-model
!
!
dot11 syslog
ip cef

rchive
log config
hide

interface Loopback0
ip address 10.108.1.1 255.255.255.0
!
interface ATM0
ip address 10.1.1.5 255.255.255.0
no atm ilmi-keepalive
dsl operating-mode auto
!
interface FastEthernet0
shutdown
no cdp enable
!
interface FastEthernet1
shutdown
no cdp enable
!
interface FastEthernet2
shutdown
no cdp enable
!
interface FastEthernet3
shutdown
no cdp enable
!
interface Dot11Radio0
no ip address
shutdown
speed basic-1.0 basic-2.0 basic-5.5 6.0 9.0 basic-11.0 12.0 18.0 24.0 36.0 48.0 54.0
station-role root
no cdp enable
!
interface Vlan1
ip address 10.1.1.2 255.255.255.0
!
router rip
version 2
network 10.0.0.0
network 192.168.1.0