Views
Helpful
Replies

Interface resets with ISP modem

DSmithQIA
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All

I'm pretty new to the game, slowly learning. I am having a most peculiar issue when connecting my ISR 4321 router to my ISP's DSL modem.

What is happening is the interface is resetting every five minutes, almost to the second, the error sequence looks like this:

*Jan 29 22:31:13.201: %LINK-5-CHANGED: Interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0, changed state to administratively down
*Jan 29 22:31:14.201: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0, changed state to down
*Jan 29 22:31:16.205: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0, changed state to down
*Jan 29 22:31:19.209: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0, changed state to up
*Jan 29 22:31:20.208: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0, changed state to up
*Jan 29 22:31:28.089: %DHCP-6-ADDRESS_ASSIGN: Interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0 assigned DHCP address xx.xx.xx.xx, mask 255.255.255.128, hostname My-RTR

This behaviour repeats itself continually, regardless of the flow of traffic. 

A little info on my ISP - I have a "Business" package, we've purchased a "Fixed" IP address, which is nothing more than a mac reservation  - I am required to set my interface to autonegotiate - it will not function with any speed or duplex settings hard-coded, nor will it work if I assign the IP manually - I have tried all of these.

What really make me wonder is, I have a Wireless modem from a different ISP, and plugging it into the interface on the Router seems to work fine - it picks up an address through DHCP, and there are no interface resets or interruptions of any kind. Below is the sh interface output for the interface in question:

GigabitEthernet0/0/0 is up, line protocol is up
Hardware is ISR4321-2x1GE, address is 80e0.1d0c.2db0 (bia 80e0.1d0c.2db0)
Internet address is 7xx.xx.xx.xx/25
MTU 1500 bytes, BW 100000 Kbit/sec, DLY 100 usec,