cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IPv4 header length

trane.m
Level 1
Level 1

(Sorry if this is the wrong place to put this)

Hello,

I'm studying for the CCNA, but got confused when reading about the IPv4 header. I just found a random picture of a IPv4 header, but as you can see at the bottom of the picture, it says "IPv4 Frame Format" so now i have to ask: What is a IPv4 header and what is a IPv4 frame? What is the difference and what do we have on this picture?

As i understand it, we have an IPv4 header on the picture, and for it to be a frame (which i wouldn't call it, it would be a packet, since it's IP and therefore must be a L3PDU, right?) it should also contain a payload in the form of L7/6/5 data encapsulated in a L4 segment.
Anyway, i'll reference the picture as a IPv4 header, because that's what i think it is, so now you know what i mean.Skærmbillede 2022-02-14 095206.pngService Providers

Right, so now for the actual reason for this: The IPv4 contains all the fields in the picture. When reading about the different fields, i found that the 'Total length' field can be as large as 65,535 bytes (which should be around 65Kb, right?), but i also found that the IPv4 maximum header length (which must be all the fields) is 60 bytes?

I tried searching for this, but could not find an explanation, which tells me i misunderstood something or i am overthinking something and i often do both. I hope someone will help me understand. Thank you in advance

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi @trane.m ,

The "total length" refers to the total length of the datagram and is 16 bits, which means it can handle up to 65536 bytes.

The Internet Header Length (IHL) field is just 4 bits and is the number of words (32 bits) that constitute the IP header, which mean that it could handle up 60 bytes header (15x4).

Please refer to RFC791 for more information.

https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/html/rfc791

Regards,

Harold Ritter
Sr Technical Leader
CCIE 4168 (R&S, SP)