cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ISCW - NAT and default route question

alexmchau
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently studying ISCW and have been reading the official exam guide. In chapter 5, it talks about the setup of NAT, DHCP then config a default route for the SOHO network.

I have an older 2611 router running at home with NAT and DHCP. It is being used to separate my kids network from my own network to implement a time-range blocks to prevent them from spending too much time on the internet.

I remember when I set it up, I didn't put a default route. I went back to my 2611 config today and surely there is no such thing as "ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 interface ethernet 0/0". However, show ip route lists a default route as "S*" points to the next hop route to get to the internet.

So, it seems to me that NAT installed this route on the route automatically (and things are working perfectly). If this is the case, why the book (page 119) says to config a static default route on the router??? I have no routing protocol running on this router.

Thanks.

- AC

6 Replies 6

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

AC

You don't need a routing protocol to have a static route. if you do a "sh run | include ip route" do you get any entries back ? such as

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0

NAT does not install routes into the routing table.

Jon

Thanks for reply. This is exactly the mystery I want to solve. I wrote the entire config on the router so I know there is absolutely no ip route statement and definitely the "sh run | include ip route" did not return anything. But the default route does show up when I issued "sh ip route". If NAT doesn't put the default route in, who did it? Will a particular IOS version do it automatically? I am using 12.2(17).

-AC

The DHCP part. Are you getting a DHCP address for the outside interface and is that setting the default-route.

Could you post config minus any sensitive info.