cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Maximum Prefixes in RIPv2 on a Cisco Router

jsbenami2008
Level 1
Level 1

I work in a lab and we are developing/testing a server based system that dymamically calulates routes for certain types of encryptors:

That said part of the component involves redistribution from ISIS into RIP (yes the only prot avail) on these encryptors for now.

Q: What is the theoretical maximum number of prefixes or routes/hosts that a RIPv2 router can carry updates for in it's routing table router to router?

Q2 Not withstanding my encrytor's limitations - What is the max number before convergence time becomes crazy?

I have searched the web and read RFC 2453 but nothing even scratches this question.

FYI we are seeking operationally 10k prefixes, with testing for 40k prefixes. I've already loaded up iBGP speaking servers and routers a> 250k prefixes. I expect RIPv2 will fall a bit short of that

11 Replies 11

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Q1. No theoretical limits.

Q2. Depends by the hardware used. A 3945E is much, much faster than a 851. You will have to experiment with your devices to find an answer.

Mohamed Sobair
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

RIP version 2 can carry up to 25 routes in it routing update without authentication.

With RIP version 2 Authentication, the Protocl can carry up to 24 routes as a maximum routes in a routing update.

Source: Routing TCP/IP by Jeff Doyle,

Regards,

Mohamed

msobier123 wrote:

Hi,

RIP version 2 can carry up to 25 routes in it routing update without authentication.

With RIP version 2 Authentication, the Protocl can carry up to 24 routes as a maximum routes in a routing update.

Source: Routing TCP/IP by Jeff Doyle,

Regards,

Mohamed

Meaning: 24 or 25 routes in a single packet.

Then splitting the entire update over multiple packets, router can advertise as many routes is wanted. This is what IOS does since day 1.

Mohamed Sobair
Level 7
Level 7

Paolo,