Views
Helpful
Replies

Moving the internet line

Vishnu Reddy
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Guys,

We have a Ciso 2911 as WAN router for MPLS and Yamaha router for internet at the Japan site. This site gets internet through Yamaha router and its an Ethernet handoff.

Ciso router has the default pointing to Yamaha for going to internet. Now the plan is to move the Internet from Yamaha router to Cisco router. Tested this by removing the ethernet cable and plugging it into cisco 2911 router and setting the default point to the ISP for internet.

int g0/2

ip address a.b.c.240 255.255.255.252

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 a.b.c.249

Ping doesn;t work getting request timed out.

My question is should the ping work automatically without involving the ISP. should we need to contact the ISP for any changes we are making at our end. Its an ethernet handoff. Since this is my first time I am not aware what are the bits and pieces that go into to make it working.

Thanks in advance.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Thanks for your reply. Same this was going on my mind but was not sure that this would be case. I will work towards updating the ISPs mac address to get this going on and will update here the next steps about resolution.

Appreciate your response. Thank you.

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

The ISP will have the incorrect mac address to IP mapping at their end when you switch the connection.

So they will be using the mac address of the Yamaha router for the IP a.b.c.240 whereas the actual mac address is the gi0/2 interface on your Cisco router.

Basically you need to the ISP to clear the arp entry for that IP at their end or wait for it to timeout but that depends on how long their settings are.

Jon