Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS noobie - need assistance

gdiazjr03
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all!!!

I have been tasked with getting our company rolled into MPLS.

We are currently an OSPF shop. We have all remote sites on point-to-point T1s off a DS3.

If anyone can provide me any tips I would greatly appreciate it.

I have no experience in this area. Currently studying for BSCI.

Where should I direct my research?

What should I be planning? What should I be asking vendors, etc. Is BGP the way to go?

All of your expertise would be a great help.

Thanks so much!!!

George

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello George,

L3 VPN services can use OSPF as the PE-CE protocols and this has low impact and doesn't require to use BGP on your side.

the provider can carry OSPF routes between sites as O inter-area routes.

a L2 transport services over MPLS allow you to build directly OSPF adjacencies with your own routers.

Some providers can charge more for a L3 VPN service using OSPF as PE-Ce rouoting protocol.

the MPLS service will be on the SP side

Hope to help

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi, when you're a customer of MPLS service, you do not see it and do not need to know how it really works inside.

Ask your SP to give you ethernet-like links, and run normal OSPF on it.

If SP says that they cannot and insist you have to use BGP, either OK that, or look for another SP.

Thanks for your answer.

With Ethernet-like links do you mean just handoff? I wouldn't want to have to worry about VTP and same broadcast domain. Does that make sense?

Mohamed Sobair
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

MPLS provide a VPN service by emulating the dedicated point to point links.

you have 2 options:

either you go for (Overlay Model) or (Peer to peer model).