cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Question about Multihoming and BGP.

Michael Couture
Level 1
Level 1

I am looking into a multi-homed solution using two different ISPs and using a Cisco 2921 router at the edge to connect to the two ISPs. Current connection is a T-1 connection the proposed additional connection would be a Comcast Ethernet connection. I have never used BGP before and therefore been trying to teach myself as much as I can. I have run multiple simulations yet I still have a few things I do not understand.

Currently the T-1 connects to the ASA via Ethernet, and the outside interface is the public IP address. The proposed new setup is a Cisco 2921 at the edge connected to the two ISPs and then the ASA firewall on the internal connection. With respect to the edge ports that connect to the two ISPs, will they use private IP addressing with the ISPs and the public address stays on the outside interface of the firewall? Or will they each have their own Different public IP address?

My next point of confusion is where and how do I transition from the inside network to the outside network and vice versa? The BGP configuration will utilize default routes only. Do I redistribute those default routes from BGP into EIGRP? For the EIGRP routes do I simply redistribute EIGRP into BGP? This seems to be my biggest point of confusion because I would not think that I would want my internal routes exiting my network. Once I get these two questions clarified I think I will have a better understanding of what I need to do. Thanks in advance.

5 Replies 5

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

If I understand this correctly, your new configuration will have a 2921 connected to two ISPs (Is this two different internet service providers or the same one providing redundant connections?), the 2921 will connect to the ASA, which will then connect to the LAN.

My other question is, do you have public web sites, or other services, or is this just for internet access only?