Replies

Remove a neighbour from BGP Route Propergation

hiltonstroud
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

First time poster so hope I have located this in the correct thread etc

I am very new to BGP routing and am in need of help with the following:

BGP has been setup between our Nexus 5k core's ISP router for our private IP network managed by them.  There is 1 BGP router from what I understand and 1 AS number has been used which has 2 nieghbours set on the Nexus 5k.

Is it possible to remove 1 of the neighbours from this without blowing away the config and starting again with BGP? Reason for this is we don't require BGP to send routes to this neighbour anymore.

If more information is required please ask and I will provide.

Many thanks for reading.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello, to disable the neighbour as mentioned previously use the shutdown key word.

switch(config)# router bgp xxxx
switch(config-router)# neighbor 172.18.30.14 remote-as xxxx
switch(config-router-neighbor)#
switch(config-router-neighbor)# shutdown

(Optional) Administratively shuts down this BGP neighbor. This command triggers an automatic notification and session reset for the BGP neighbor sessions

This will leave the existing config intact apart from the neighbour being shutdown which is the goal here if I understood correctly.

If you want to remove the configuration for this particular neighbour

switch(config-router)# no neighbor 172.18.30.14 remote-as xxxx

This will remove all commands for this neighbour I believe, but still leave the rest of your BGP configuration intact.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus5000/sw/unicast/5_0_3_N1_1/l3_bgp.html#wp1078063

Hope this helps

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

Please rate useful posts & remember to mark any solved questions as answered. Thank you.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Simon Brooks
Level 1
Level 1