Views
Helpful
Replies

Same IP in DC and DR- What to do?

faizshiraji
Level 1
Level 1

Dear Seniors,

I am new in this kinds of big deployment. OK, I have 2 Internet Service Provider (ISP), ISP-A and ISP-B and also have 2 DC sites and DR sites with same ISP's. I have also own register ASN with /23 block IP's. Following is my diagram.site_sample.jpg

I have a site www.abcd.com in my web server what are sync with DR web server. So, I want my visitor can access my web site using one single ip resolution against the my FQDN. no required any dns refresh or any dns job. 

Need Help.

4 Replies 4

chrisgray1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

If you would like to direct the inbound traffic to the server via a single primary path? it would come down to what the ISP will let you advertise to it in terms of subnets.. I did something like it before because the ISP allowed me to advertise a smaller subnet like a /26 from one of the locations.. As well as the overall summary route.. In your case it is /23

So in that case the inbound traffic could come into the site B rather than site A where you may have an overlapped subnet ??

Dear Chrisgray1,

Thank you for your reply. In my case, i have /23 but there the problem is i am unable to route same network to my isp's two different network. I have share the following example.

I have 10.10.5.0/23 and my isp have two different network for DC (5.5.5.0) and DR(6.6.6.0) now my isp  cannot ebgp with my same network with their different network. So, i have break my network with 2 different /24 network. and then advertise 10.10.5.0/24 with my DC (5.5.5.0) site and 10.10.6.0/24 with my DR (6.6.6.0). So, in that case how i can unique my IP for my single site without help of dns failover?

whitegrape
Level 1
Level 1
Hi,

There are 2 methods to solve this.

1) Use cisco anycast, below is a good introduction of the anycast topology.
https://www.pacnog.org/pacnog6/IXP/Anycast-v10.pdf

2) Use load balancer in front of webserver.