cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Server can't ping anything, but other devices can ping it

Exoticbutter
Level 1
Level 1

I seem to have a problem with pinging. My IoT devices can ping the server, but the server can't ping anything, not even the router. I'm a beginner with a month's of study in networking only. Please tell me in detail why the server can't ping other devices. Any help will be much appreciated!

Due to limited image size, I have attached only limited images. Please help me figure it out!!

19 Replies 19

Exoticbutter
Level 1
Level 1

Everything in my network can ping to everything, except for server -> other devices, that doesn't work

from server can you post ipconfig /all output ?

from what device you try to ping Server ( what is the IP of the device ?)

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

@balaji.bandi I tried to ping end devices with server, but none of it works, it only works the other way round, devices -> server

As per the screenshot, server do not have gateway, also check the is the IP address correct.

as per one of screenshot your router also has same IP address 10.0.0.1 (so its conflict the IP address)

so change the IP address of the Server with free address  example :

10.0.0.X

gateway 10.0.0.1 should work.

BB

I've followed what u said and changed Server IPv4 address to 10.0.0.2 and gateway 10.0.0.1, but to no avail. 

as per the document then correct, Server ( check FW as suggested to disable) should be 10.0.0.1  (adding gateway not harm - that is 10.0.0.10 towards wireless router ( Wireless router should be 10.0.0.10 as per teh config)

please change this and post show run from wireless router.

BB

Yes, why server cant ping anything is also part of the exercise in the document for us to find out. It asked why all devices can ping one another, except server not ping anything. 

I changed the gateway of Server to 10.0.0.10, but to no avail.