Views
Helpful
Replies

Using PBR with EIGRP

a.gooding
Level 5
Level 5

Good day everyone,

ive seen a lot of examples of the above subject but i would like to have some clarification on an existing lab configuration issue we are having. first off, im by no means an expert hence reaching out here

we have a customer that has its HQ and 10 remote branches. they are all connected via two metro ethernet links with the same bandwidth. the request is to pass video on one link an "the rest" on the other. "The Rest" should also failover to the backup link if the primary fails.

we decided to use PBR with the following general configurations

HQ - WAN1 (Primary) and WAN 2 (backup - for video)

access-list 10 permit "the rest"

access-list 20 permit "video"

route-map TEST 10

match ip 10

set interface WAN 1 WAN 2

route-map TEST 20

match ip 20

set interface WAN 2

Interface LAN

ip policy route-map TEST

my assumption is that for "The rest" it would use the PRIMARY link and if not available use the secondary (this is working)

Video would use the BACKUP link (not working) - it still uses the primary unless i fail the primary.

what im seeing is that EIGRP is advertising the PRIMARY link only and therefore as  VIDEO is using the interface WAN2 it sees it as not available and drops off to the normal routing. If this is the case, is there any work around for HQ?

for the branches, since there are defined hops to reach to HQ then i dont think we shoud have any issues. i have tried using the next hop as well as ip sla for the branches and all seem to work. the key difference here is i can send to a specific hop(s) from branch to HQ but i cant do that from HQ to all branches.

thanks in advance and apologies if this has been addressed previously most have been utilzing ISP links which are a bit different from the above.

17 Replies 17

Gabriel Hill
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Can you kinda draw out a little diagram with what you're working with.