cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Why switches send traffic to Router if it has a MAC ADD Table?

uiteqerson
Level 1
Level 1

Excuse the terrible title. My question is if a Switch has two data VLANs (Accounting/Marketing) and it maintains a MAC Address Table, When a switch receives traffic from an end user device connected to the switch and the device its trying to send traffic to on the same switch but a different VLAN, does the switch not just send the data to the interface that receiving device belongs to? Why does it route traffic on a different network if we are dealing Mac Address not IP.

I passed my CCENT years ago, but this question just came up as I am studying for my CCNA and I cannot find this answer anywhere. Thank you.

7 Replies 7

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

check how the inter-vlan works :

https://www.ciscopress.com/articles/article.asp?p=3089357

check good example video :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdNS0K4Bt8U

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Because L3 takes precedence over L2.

For example, what if you had two hosts in the same VLAN, but in different networks?

Sending host first needs to resolve whether destination L3 address is with same network? In this example, it's not, so it sends to L3 gateway.

L3 gateway sends to destination host but it may also inform sending host destination can be reached directly as it's in same L2 domain.  In that happens, transmitting host can send directly to other host.  But, sending host needs gateway to so inform it.

NB: forgoing assumes hosts are configured with a gateway and gateway will send a redirect.