Helpful
Replies

Data center setup using Nexus 5548

ashwin_kuhikar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

This is my first post in this forum.

I am new to data center switches in terms of configuration and implementation. All of sudden i am now given this task to set up a data center for XYZ client.

Devices involved (my scope):

1. Nexus 5548UP - with daughter card for L3 feature.
2. Nexus 3048
3. Nexus 2232PP

Please refer the diagram attached for more details.

Brief requirement:

There are few (lets assume 50) servers coming up. I will be allocating /27 IP pool in Nexus 5548 for each VLANs for these servers. 
Say there are 5 Vlans: Vlan 10, Vlan 20, Vlan 30, Vlan 40 and vlan 50 and these 50 servers will be part of some or the other vlans.

The shaded rectangle will be my scope and client will be sitting beyond firewall who will be accessing these servers.
Port channel will be created between ASA5548 and Nexus 5548.

These nexus 5548UP will act as redundant device (will configure VRRP). Each server will have 2 ports connected to each Nexus 2232PP.

Nexus 3048 will be connected to Firewall and will be used to manage other network devices.

1. How do i configure VLANs on Nexus 5548 ?
2. Is it possible to advertise these pool towards firewall via port channel sub-interface via static route ?

Please require your expert advice on the same. 

Thanks in advance.

Rgds

7 Replies 7

Ganesh Hariharan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
Hi All,

This is my first post in this forum.

I am new to data center switches in terms of configuration and implementation. All of sudden i am now given this task to set up a data center for XYZ client.

Devices involved (my scope):

1. Nexus 5548UP - with daughter card for L3 feature.
2. Nexus 3048
3. Nexus 2232PP

Please refer the diagram attached for more details.

Brief requirement:

There are few (lets assume 50) servers coming up. I will be allocating /27 IP pool in Nexus 5548 for each VLANs for these servers.