Helpful
Replies

SDA for Wireless Design

fatalXerror
Level 5
Level 5

Hi Guys,

I am new in SDA solutions, I would like to ask the following,

1. Where should I connect the non-fabric devices like firewall, WLC, etc.? Directly to the BN node?

2. Typically, how many BN and CP nodes should I deploy, two for redundancy?

3. How to connect my firewall if I want that the gateway of my networks are in the firewall?

4. Can my ISE and DNAC be in the DC instead of the office campus where the SDA fabric are formed?

5. Is the foreign-anchor wireless design still applicable in SDA for guest access?

Thank you so much.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

I dont see the need for a dedicated BN.

The BN would be the gateway

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

Hi @fatalXerror 

"I am new in SDA solutions, I would like to ask the following,"

SDA is pretty new so I believe everyone around here is also learning. I had the opportunity to deploy and I will try to help with what I know. This is a very interesting topic.

"1. Where should I connect the non-fabric devices like firewall, WLC, etc.? Directly to the BN node?"

Non-Fabric device is connected to the Border Nodes.  Although WLC is a Fabric device(depending the model and version). If you take a look on the CVD for SD-A, this will be there:

"Border Node

The fabric border nodes serve as the gateway between the SD-Access fabric site and the networks external to the fabric. The border node is responsible for network virtualization interworking and SGT propagation from the fabric to the rest of the network."

2. Typically, how many BN and CP nodes should I deploy, two for redundancy?

I dont believe there will be a magic number. It will depend on the size of the network.  But a typical CVD SDA design diagram shows two BN for redundancy

FlavioMiranda_0-1689071326051.jpeg

3. How to connect my firewall if I want that the gateway of my networks are in the firewall?