cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

password reset for sg300-28pp

cisco-newb
Level 1
Level 1

I tried to log into the switch and I was prompted with a user/password is incorrect message. I have been using a password manager for several years and the credentials for this switch have been in the manager since day one. I logged in and made a change in May of 2017 and it was not a password change.

I have connected via console and tried to connect that way, I was not able to login. 

I have power cycled the switch, no luck. I have also tried the default credentials, which didn't work.

I found this discussion (below) but all I see is scrambled/garbage text during boot up, I don't see a prompt telling me to press Esc or any clear text. I didn't realize putty wouldn't work so I downloaded Tera Term which didn't change the results/outcome.

https://supportforums.cisco.com/t5/small-business-support-documents/how-to-recover-a-reboot-loop-on-sx300/ta-p/3134953 

I have never had an issue logging into this switch, I'm not really sure what happened.

The current config appears to be correct (VLANs and all other options appear to be working as originally configured).

I think my only option is going to be a factory reset.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Have your console session running at 115200 and reboot the switch. All being well you should see the cisco splash screen and the instructions to enter prom.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

When booting the SG300 uses a baudrate of 115200.  Set your console software to use that speed and you should see the prompt to press Enter or Esc to enter prom.

cheers,

Seb.

I am certain that I tried to connect at 115200 (per the instructions), but it didn't connect (the switch was already booted, at this point). Do I need to ignore that I can't connect (during normal switch operation), power cycle my device, and attempt to connect while the device is booting?