cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

3 OSPF area different Can't communicate to pc on each end

leslie.marin001
Level 1
Level 1

Professor assigned a project that I mostly understand . but didn't properly show multiarea ospf . I got both areas to communicate and get rid of an OSPF error where i have to create a virtual link ? . but now each router knows each network but it says unreachable when I try to ping the interface connecting to the pc . I'm still new to this and I'm unsure what commands helps me block the interface even though the main router and adjacent router knows each network . . I understand the border Router interface port needs to be in area of the router so a different area . but now imp stuck where it doesn't see the second interface as if its "gone". I hope I make sense .

I UPLOADED THE WRONG ONE . I'm really sorry I didn't realize it till a commenter . I'm so sorry 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

No problem. It happens.

None of the interfaces have been configured and no OSPF was present in the routing table (guessing it hasn't been configured) I wont configure it for you but will gladly help.

Make sure you follow the other instructions about the router ID and assign the interfaces the correct IPs. Make sure to also enable the interfaces, but as far as OSPF see below:

R1 and R2 <-- you can enable OSPF globally the same for all interfaces since all their interfaces are in the same area 0

router ospf 1

network 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 area 0 

R4 has interfaces in Area 0 and Area 66. You configure the network statements with wildcard masks relating to each network and the area they belong to.

router ospf 1

network 192.168.24.0 0.0.0.255 area 0

network 192.168.34.0 0.0.0.255 area 0

network 192.168.46.0 0.0.0.255 area 66

R6 is fully in area 66 so we can configure OSPF globally for all interfaces

router ospf 1

network 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 area 66

R3 is in area 0 and area 33

router ospf 1

network 192.168.13.0 0.0.0.255 area 0