cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

3850 - How to Stack, need some help please.

paulbroomfield
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

I'm rather new to this so I might be asking some silly questions.

We have just bought two 24port 3850, and I'd love to get them work as a stack. I've plugged in the stackwise, configured VLAN's and Syslog. I boot the master then the slave and it joins the stack fine.

My problem is that the master stays as active and the slave sits there waiting patiently doing nothing, ready for the master to die and for the slave to take over.

It'd be great to get these guys working together in a traditional stack.

After a bunch of reading I can't find the answer I'm looking for, I come across bits about Level 3 licensing, but I'm still not clear about what I actually have to do.

Please could someone point me in the right direction.

thanks!

Paul

22 Replies 22

you have no L3 routing setup except vlan 2 so you wouldn't be able to ping between devices on switch 2 because those ports are all in vlan 1 .  So make sure ip routing is turned on for the stack , assign gateway addresses to "interface vlaN 1 AND VLAN 3 .  If testing between pc's then make sure all pc firewalls are turned off before testing . The stack appears to be working normally as you can see all the ports in the stack , switch 1 is the master.  No you wouldn't be able to ping from switch 2 console port as it's not the current master for the stack.Add addresses to these

nterface Vlan1    needs address

no ip address

ip broadcast-address 192.168.15.255

!

interface Vlan2

ip address 192.168.0.251 255.255.255.0

!

interface Vlan3  --->  needs address  ,  these are the gateways for the vlans .

no ip address

!

Not sure what you mean with this.

What we have done.

- configured matching vlan's on each switch  --->  ????   You only configure the master switch which controls the whole stack...

Richard Primm
Cisco Employee