Views
Helpful
Replies

A few questions regarding distributed CEF

Mitrixsen
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, everyone.

I have 2 questions regarding dCEF and chassis devices as I just started learning about them.

1. I've read that there are Route Switch Processor cards in chassis devices which serve the same purpose as a CPU. My question is, what is a processor card? I imagine a CPU being something you plug into a CPU socket, I’ve never seen it as a card before. Does the card's function differ in any way from regular CPUs?

2. With Distributed CEF, there are CEF components (FIB, ADJ tables) on each linecard, correct? So the device has CEF distributed across all of its linecards which then perform forwarding decisions and thus relieve the route processor of that function.

How exactly can linecards perform forwarding decisions? Is there some sort of chip like an ASIC built into them?

Thank you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

"I've read that there are Route Switch Processor cards in chassis devices which serve the same purpose as a CPU."

Not exactly.   A general CPU might be a component on such a card, but the card likely has other components to support routing and switching.  A RSP is sort of the router equivalent of a L2/L3 switch supervisor card.  Also, even within Cisco, the same "functional" card, might use different terms (and the approach isn't new).  On the CRS, card was simply a RP (route processor) on the 12000 series, is was the GRP (gigabit route processor).  On the 7200 routers, you had NPE (network processing engine - component 9 is the CPU)  and NSE (network service engine).  

"My question is, what is a processor card? I imagine a CPU being something you plug into a CPU socket, I’ve never seen it as a card before."

Example

"With Distributed CEF, there are CEF components (FIB, ADJ tables) on each linecard, correct?"