Views
Helpful
Replies

A problem with port security

levitan.eli
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,

I'm kinda new to r&s and just started learning through cbt nuggets and got to port security and I have a question:

I made with Packet Tracer a model of normalSwitch-normalPC and "evil" switch-"evil" PC, as the name suggests- it is evil.

so i configured the normal switch's port security with max:1 ,MAC sticky , violation: shutdown so no one else should connect through that port and when I disconnected the normal PC and replaced it with evilSwitch it worked as expected.

BUT when i change violation to restrict the colors between the normal switch and "evil" switch are turning green (!) and no warning is on my console.
Isn't the sticky MAC should disable the evil switch from connecting ? And why there is no warning on the screen ?

Thanks, Eli !

9 Replies 9

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
Hi
I dont use PT but it could just be an emulator issue that its not dropping the packets , regarding screen output if your over vty port you need terminal monitor configured , if over console logging console should be enabled to be able to see the issues as they occur or alerts

is the security violation even incrementing when you check the PS status for that port when the bad PC is connected ?
show port-security interface | i Viol

switchport port-security violation
To set the action to be taken when a security violation is detected, use the switchport port-security violation command. To revert to the default settings, use the no form of this command.

switchport port-security violation { protect | restrict | shutdown }
no switchport port-security violation { protect | restrict | shutdown }

Syntax Description

protect
Drops all the packets from the insecure hosts at the port-security process level but does not increment the security-violation count.

restrict