Views
Helpful
Replies

Accessing CLI for C4003

Nick Dennis
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm still pretty new to the networking scene. I'm trying to access the CLI on a Cisco Catalyst 4003 switch.

It has a WS-X4012 Supervisor module, a WS-X4232-L3 - Layer 3 Routing Module, and a WS-X4418-GB switching module. Well to make things short and sweet, I don't have a computer with a COM port on it. I need to access the CLI to setup the switch, and I only have a ethernet port on my computer and I'm running Ubuntu 11.10. Can anyone give me some step by step information on how to access the CLI? This is just a second hand switch I picked up.

Thank you in advance!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Ok, so the console is RJ-45 and I see your cable is DB25 to RJ45.  So you need a new console cable with one side DB9 female and the other side RJ-45.  Then you need a converter to convert from USB to serial.  The converter has one side serial DB9 mail and the other side USB.  USB connects to your PC and DB9 connecters to the other DB9 and the other side (RJ45) to the switch.  I don't know if there is driver for your OS you are running. I know there is driver for windows XP and 7, but you do need a driver for the converter.

here is the console cable

http://www.amazon.com/Kingsmart-Cisco-Console-Cable-RJ45-to-DB9/dp/B000GL3MOY

HTH

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Nick,

If the switch does not have any config on it, the only way to access it is by console port.  If you don't have serial port, then you have probably USB ports.  What you need to do is to buy q USB to serial converter and connect the USB side of the to your PC. (need to install a driver for it) and connect the other side to your switch. Do you have a console cable?

if yes, what are the connectors on each side?  Also, the console port on the switch is RJ-45 or serial?

HTH

Hi Reza,