Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ACL explicit any any IP deny needed?

Hello,

I'm new to setting up Cisco ASA and so ACL will be new for me too. The ACL is set up with rules for ports opened to specific IPs on my DMZ but I was wondering if I need to create an explicit rule for any any IP deny so that everything else not in the rules are blocked or are everything else blocked implicitly without me creating the any any IP Deny?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Based on that photo, that rule looks to be enabled, but could also be at the end of an ACL, as it's line 3 and the implicits are usually the only line at the end.

When you alter one of the ACL (outside, inside, DMZ, etc.), the implicit rule is added but not visible (much like a regular ACL). So, you're good without adding the rule. Best thing to test is to enable logging, go to Monitor -> Logging -> View log, and verify that the traffic you haven't allowed (or don't want to allow) is being blocked. The interface is... questionable as far as interaction, but each line gives you the same SYSLOG information you'll get anywhere else.

The only benefit I've ever had with an explicit rule at the end is the "Hit Counter" aspect. I'll reset it every hour just to get an idea of whether I need to start a capture or not (and thus ruin the rest of my day). So, if you want to monitor the denys occurring do the explicit, otherwise it's just clutter. Also, some requirements (DISA STIG, ACAS, etc.) require an explicit entry, because the scanners aren't intuitive. If you have a SOC or IA group that will be evaluating the device against a baseline then throw the explicit in there as well.

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

The answer is "kinda yeah".