Views
Helpful
Replies

Add Vlan in MSTP Configuration

John Chan
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. I am new to networking.

Recently there is a need to add a new vlan to one of the instance in the mst configuration among the switches that run MSTP. And I have searched and read post that there must have some network interruption when configuring the switches. I would like to know in what way the interruption would be minimized when configuring the switches - from root to non-root or from non-root to root and why is it like that.

Thanks very much!

3 Replies 3

Diana Karolina Rojas
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello John, 

You can review this post: https://supportforums.cisco.com/t5/lan-switching-and-routing/mst-adding-a-vlan-with-no-impact/td-p/1825297

---Do not forget to rate useful post---

Regards,

I have read this post before, but seems it does not quite answer my question. It uses the VTP server. But in my environment the VTP method is not adopted. So I need to add the vlan and reconfigure the spanning tree one by one. And it says the procedure should be starting from the root, and just want to know why is it like that. 

Thanks very much.

Hello John,

>> But in my environment the VTP method is not adopted. So I need to add the vlan and reconfigure the spanning tree one by one

The answers is that it depends from your current MST configuration : if the new Vlan falls within a range associated to an MST instance and want to use that specific MST instance for the Vlan there is no impact and you just have to create the L2 Vlan on each switch with manual commands because you are not using VTP. However, there will not be any issue because all the key parameters that decide if two switches are in the same MST region have not changed:

MST region name

revision number

>>hash of Vlans to MST instances mapping