cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Assistance connecting two separate company networks (same building) together

Dennis Newman
Level 1
Level 1

Looking for some (probably basic) network configuration information.

I currently have two separate networks (company acquisition)

Network 1 is a Novell Open Enterprise (Suse Linux) configured on the 10.10.10.xx subnet with it's own internet connection using a Cisco ASA 5512x gateway - 5512 has a point to point connection to a remote office that uses the 10.10.20.x subnet through a 5505

Network 2 is a Windows 2003 domain configured on the 192.168.x.x subnet with it's internet coming in through a Cisco ASA 5505 gateway - this network also has a remote site connected to it, but I'm not sure how large, or what hardware

Both networks have several netgear, dell,and extreme networks switches and / or routers (some of which are L3 and capable of vlans, but I'm a novice with vlans)

What I need is for computers on the 192.168 subnet to "see" the servers on the 10.10 subnet, and eventually to use the 10.10 internet connection.  I'm willing to learn whatever I need to learn, and to purchase whatever is needed, but I am looking for some direction so I don't waste any more time than I must.

What is the best (and / or easiest) way - other than changing everyone's ip range - to get these systems to see each other ?

Thanks for any assistance

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello Dennis

I would probably install a line between the two networks that connects physically to a switch at each location, and assign it to a separate VLAN let's call it an interconnection VLAN 200. Then you would configure a trunk between the switch and ASA since you have those at both locations, and a sub-interface on the ASA in VLAN 200. Finally you would configure static routes on the ASAs to reach the remote network over this VLAN 200.