ATTENTION: We are currently working an issue with posting. Thank you for your patience while we work on a resolution.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Building a test network

jimtully03
Level 1
Level 1

Hey folks. I have been put in charge of getting a failover cluster up and runing for SQL AlwaysOn. My equipment is a Cisco SF300-24 and a Cisco 2024 smartswitch. Now I am really new at this since my CCNA class has not yet started but I am trying to get a headstart. What I need to do is split the network up into 2 vlans to represent my data center, and the network oporation center. Ports 1,2,and 3 will be my DC; 11 and 12 will be my NOC. I need to learn how to get those two vlans to communicate. trunk? how? I need the computers to communicate flawlessly.  I would rather use the Cisco CLI and not the GUI but if someone could please help me out, google is comming up with nothing descriptive. please help me!

Jim

14 Replies 14

TomF
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Jim,

I am not sure if I understand your question. However (and also I am new at this stuff) you need to create the 2 VLANs, assign the ports to the vlans and setup routing between the Vlans.

The vlans you create using the vlan command

The ports you assign via: switchport access vlan vlan-id

As far as I can see the sf300 can do routing between vlans. So take a look at the manual to get you going.

Goodluck

Tom

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPad App

Thanks for the help Tom.  I got to the point where I need to get the two vlans to communicate. I believe this is done with LAG and trunking? but I'm not sure and dont know how.  I'm not sure if I need to take the same ethernet cable and plug one end into a vlan 1 port, and the other end into a vlan 2 port to make a trunk, then do something with LAG.

Jim

Hi,