cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

C3750V2 Factory Default Login Credentials

dennis.meek
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to Cisco managed switches and purchased a C3750V2. When I try to log into the web interface and/or Cisco Network Assistant I get an message stating that I need to use "level_15_access."

1. What is level 15 access?

2. Where can I find the default username and password for that switch type?

I tried the below username and password combinations without success:

cisco, cisco

admin, admin

9 Replies 9

Hulk8647
Level 1
Level 1

what IP did you enter in the browser to get the username and password prompt

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @dennis.meek,

You have to set the switch up with a password, then, uses the switch password for access on web gui

S(conf t)username xxx secret xxxx priv 15

S(conf t)enable password xxxx

S(conf t)line vty 0 4

login local

An ADMIN account could be assigned the level 15 access for privileged EXEC mode.

Regrads

dennis.meek
Level 1
Level 1

I used the ip that was assigned by my router by looking up the Mac address.

you'll need to do what luis posted above. That should resolve it

It is not clear whether this switch is really a new (fresh out of the box) purchase or is a previously used switch. Especially if it is a previously used switch then there is probably an already configured user ID and password. You probably will need to use the password recovery procedure to configure a new ID and password. If it is a new switch then you should try access via the console port. A new switch will accept access via console and facilitate building a new configuration.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
As noted by the others, across the net access often requires some basic configuration, which as noted by Rick, is generally done via console access.

First, thank you to each of you for taking time out of your day to help me.

Here is some information in response to some questions in the thread: