Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 2960 update

Hi, im trying to upgrade my cisco 2960x switch(c2960x-universalk9-mz.152-4.E8.bin). I have created a tftp server with tftpd64. Im using putty and my error message is:

N-VIN-CIS-1169-#copy tftp flash
Address or name of remote host [158.149.64.62]?
Source filename [c2960x-universalk9-mz.152-4.E8.bin]?
Destination filename [c2960x-universalk9-mz.152-4.E8.bin]?
Accessing tftp://158.149.64.62/c2960x-universalk9-mz.152-4.E8.bin...
%Error opening tftp://158.149.64.62/c2960x-universalk9-mz.152-4.E8.bin (Timed out)

This is my first try doing this. What connection am I supposed to have between my laptop and switch?

13 Replies 13

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Can you ping the TFTP server?

I can ping my switch when im on wifi but not when im connected with cable. The thin gi dont understand is do I update my switch through wifi, console cable or ethernet cable?

If you using TFTP you will need to do this over IP. Should not really matter if you are doing this over WiFi or ethernet, as long as you have IP connectivity between switch and machine running TFTP server. You can certainly connect to the switch via console cable and run the commands, as long as the switch still has IP connectivity to your machine.

Im connected to the switch with both console cable and wifi. I can ping the switch when im on wifi. What are the commands I should be running then? I cant get it done

Ensure your tftp application is listening on the WIFI NIC. Usually a drop down.
Disable windows firewall temporarily (if Windows)
Run the command on the switch as you did before.

Copy tftp flash command.