cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 3660 Router For Home Cable Broadband Use

Back2life
Level 1
Level 1

HELP! , I'm a newbie learning this networking stuff. I have a good working knowledge of TCP/IP networking. I have a Cisco 3660 router I'm wanting to use in place of a WRT54G router with my Charter cable internet service. I saw a youtube video where a guy demonstrated how to use a Cisco 2600 series router with home broadband service. I followed the video to setup my 3660 router. I can ping the LAN side (192.168.1.1) with no problem, the DHCP functions as it should. I can see activity on the on the WAN port indicator but no internet access. I have attached .doc file that shows the "sho run" info. My network will be setup as follows

Charter Cable Motorola Surf Modem - ethernet to MM fiber converter - MM fiber over to Sun Microsystems cabinet fiber closet - MM fiber card (on Cisco 3660 router FA6/0 WAN interface) - LAN interface FA0/0 - Cisco 3524 managed switch. One of the gigabit MM fiber ports on the Cisco 3524 feeds a 3Com Superstack 12 port gigabit fiber managed switch. My two Dell 2950 servers will be on the Superstack gigabit fiber backbone. The Cisco 3524 10/100 ports will have a Cisco access point, two IP addressible battery backup units, two Dell Desktops, and a LG Blu Ray player. ANY HELP WILL BE APPRECIATED!

21 Replies 21

Phil Minneci
Level 1
Level 1

"ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 FastEthernet0/0"

You're forwarding all unknown traffic out to fa0/0 - which is your .1 gateway of 192.168.1.0/24.  Isn't this your internal LAN (Dell Desktops, BluRay, etc...)?

You should be forwarding all unkown traffice out your fa6/0 (WAN) interface. 

Also, check if your Surf Modem has a "router behind a router" setting that needs to be configured.

I assume this is the video you're referencing:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5_NZAwSQDE

If you look at 4:04, he messes up on the static route command by first trying to type interface fa0/0 - then changes it to fa0/1.

HTH!