cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 800 Series Routers

digimansam
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All. I am a newbie to the Cisco world, trying to complete CCNA. Iv been messing around with ISP Virgins Super-hub 2, catalyst 3750, Cisco 871W & 881 series routers for around 4 months now.

Iv managed to get the first router 871W connected to the virgin super-hub on a different network using DHCP and NAT and have the wireless & switch ports working fine.

I have a couple of questions hopefully someone can answer. 

Why do you need to use NAT on the 871w router that is connected to the virgin router that presumably uses NAT already and yet when i use NAT on the second router 881 connected to the 871w on a different network it wont work, and for the life of me i can not get the PC to access the internet through the 881 to 871w to the super hub its now driving me insane. 

Any help would be appreciated.        

14 Replies 14

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

One thing is clear which is that when you connect hosts in a private network (network 10.0.0.0, 172.16.0., 192.168.0.0) that at least one device needs to do address translation. It is possible that the ISP router would do the address translation. It is also possible that one or both of your 800 routers might do the address translation. It is possible that more than one router might do address translation. Probably the first thing that should be done to understand the issue is to verify whether the ISP router is set up to do address translation and if it is then to understand what networks it is set up to translate. After we know that we can consider whether your 800 routers also need to do address translation.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Hi Rick.

Thanks for the reply. My ISP router is a re badged Netgear wireless router on the private network 192.168.0.0 /24

unfortunately the GUI is very limited to what you can see is going on.

But surely the netgear router must be using NAT to translate the private network to the Web.