Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 867 Router Configuration

Gebraffe75
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Hopefully I'm in the right place to post this query. I just purchased a Cisco 867 router and want to get the unit configured. I should say this is my first time configuring a Cisco router and while it's steep learning curve it seems it's the lack of documentation and support that is holding me back more than anything else other than a lack of Cisco training.

The unit is connected via comm port using the supplied console cable connected to an express card with 9 pin D connector. I have connected to the router using Hyper Terminal. After the unit boots I do not get offered the prompt to enter the Initial Configuration Dialogue which should be the norm. The boot gets as far as:

125440K bytes of ATA CompactFlash (Read/Write)

control-plane (top hat sat below letter 't')

% Invalid input detected at '^' marker

Press RETURN to get started

When I hit return I am sent to the Router> prompt. If I try and enter privilege mode by typing enable I get prompted for a password. I do not know the password and the defualt password of 'cisco' does not work. I have also tried just returning on the password and the passwords 'password' and 'pass'.

Router details:

The System Bootsrap, Version 12.4(22r)YB5, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

C860 platform with 262144 Kbytes of main memory.

CIsoc IOS Software, C860 Software (C860-UNIVERSALK9-M), Version 15.0(1)M2, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc2)

This is no doubt Cisco Router 101 basics but I would really appreciate the patience and help to get me going.

Many thanks

Richard

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

have you tryed to type enter after the password prompt?

Otherwise you could try do do a password recovery

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps380/products_password_recovery09186a00800942bc.shtml

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

riroe
Level 3
Level 3